Honor a Researcher

The MNRS Honor a Researcher program was established to give MNRS members and others an opportunity to honor their research colleagues for outstanding endeavors related to research. This program acknowledges that there are many research and research-related accomplishments that never receive national awards yet are vital to the building of nursing’s knowledge base. In addition, there are many locally and regionally valued researchers who likewise are not properly recognized. This program provides a means of honoring and praising those among us who deserve to be recognized.

Donors have the option to choose from three categories for honoring early career researchers, senior researchers, and accomplishments. Accomplishments include but are not limited to an ongoing program of research, receipt and/or completion of a research project or program, completion of an outstanding publication, and gratitude toward a mentor or colleague. Donors have the option to choose from the two award amounts, $100 and $250.



South Dakota State UniversityDr. Foland is an outstanding professor, mentor, teacher, and colleague. She has guided numerous PhD, DNP, and Master’s students in becoming a nurse researcher.Nominated by: Robin Brown, PhD, RN
Mary Beth Happ, PhD, RN, FGSA, FAAN
The Ohio State University College of NursingDr. Happ has excelled in intervention research and translating its findings into practice to improve outcomes in critically ill patients and their families.Nominated by: Bernadette Mazurek Melnyk, PhD, RN, CPNP/PMHNP, FAANP, FNAP, FAAN
Marianne E. Weiss, RN, DNSc
Marquette UniversityLeads a 34 hospital study of the effect of discharge teaching and discharge readiness in patient outcomes including readmissions and use of emergency service.Nominated by: Donna O. McCarthy Beckett, PhD, RN, FAAN
Patricia E. Hershberger, PhD, MSN, RN, FNP-BC, FAAN
University of Illinois at ChicagoPioneer and leader in area of decision making surrounding assistive reproductive technology. Served on Board of Directors and as a Director-at-Large for Midwest Nursing Research Society.Nominated by: Mary Dawn Koenig, PhD, RN, CNM & Shannnon L. Gillespie, PhD, RN
Lindsey Garfield, PhD
Loyola University ChicagoRising translational scientist whose work demonstrates creativity and innovation in advancing understanding of biobehavioral pathways underlying women’s mental health conditions.Nominated by:Mary Dawn Koenig, PhD, RN, CNM & Shannnon L. Gillespie, PhD, RN
Susan M. Rawl, PhD, RN, FAAN
Indiana University School of NursingDr. Rawl excelled as MNRS Board of Directors President through outstanding service & leadership in Strategic Plan development and her collegial approach to problem solving.Nominated by: Marge J. Bott, PhD, RN


Past Honored Research Recipients

2016 Honor a Researcher Recipients

2015 Honor a Researcher Recipients

2013 Honor a Researcher Recipients