## Building a BRILLIANT Community...With YOU!





Annual Report 2018 - 2019



### Letter from the Board of Trustee President

### Through your support, three budding nursing scholars have funding to foster their research.

That is a testament to your generosity! While we often speak about grants and funding on a macro level in terms of total giving or total support, the true difference is at the micro level. At this level, the impact has names, Windy Alonso, Emma Schlagel, and Clarissa Shaw. As the 2019 Grant Recipients, your support provided these scientists with funding to support their research. Additionally, patient outcomes will be improved in the area of dementia, reproductive health, and heart disease in rural populations.

The MNRS Foundation was established in 2007 to ensure MNRS members have access to funding and twelve years later, donors continue to generously give to support the future of nursing science. This past year, the Foundation launched a new Annual Giving program – The Gemstone Society. With access to online and recurring giving options, more than 67 donors responded to the opportunity. Additionally, conference fundraising this year was successful with a new champagne reception and 68 raffle items donated. Many thanks to Fundraising Committee Chair, Dr. Joachim Voss and raffle Traveling Trophy winner, University of Nebraska Medical Center. We could not have achieved success without your dedication and service to MNRS.

As I write this letter, the MNRS Foundation Board of Trustees is already working to steward each donated dollar to ensure maximum impact on emerging nursing scholars and ultimately on patient outcomes. Please be sure to visit the website and join The Gemstone Society today. Your generosity will have immense impact – just ask Clarissa, Emma, and Windy!

### 2018 - 2019 MNRS Foundation Board of Trustees

Janet Larson, PhD, RN, FAAN
JoEllen Wilbur, PhD, APN, CNP, RN, FAAN
Robert "Bob" Topp, PhD, RN
Sharon Tucker, PhD, RN, ARNP-CNS, FNAP, FAAN

Cynthia Arslanian-Engoren, PhD, RN, FAHA, FAAN
Marquis Foreman, PhD, RN, FAAN
Christine Kovach, PhD, RN, FGSA, FAAN
Ann Marie McCarthy, PhD, RN, FNASN, FAAN
Madison Buursma, BSN, RN
Jean Wyman, PhD, CNP, RN, FAAN

# Foundation Revenue Income Income Donations from Members Annual Conference Fundraising Grant Fundraising Other



### Building a BRILLIANT Community... With the Gemstone Society



Sapphire Donors (Annual Gifts of \$1,000 - \$2,499)

Cynthia Arslanian-Engoren
Holli DeVon
Cynthia Elverson
Janet Larson
Juliann Sebastian
Susan Noble Walker
Terri Weaver
JoEllen Wilbur



Topaz Donors (Annual Gifts of \$500 - \$999)

Danielle Dohrmann Kathleen Sawin Jean Wyman



Emerald Donors (Annual Gifts of \$250 - \$499)

Cindy Anderson
Madison Burrsma
Anne Marie McCarthy
Marilyn Rantz
Sandra Ward
Jiying Ling



Pearl Donors (Annual Gifts of \$100 - \$249)

Kim Astroth
Kelly Braniff
Lisa Brodersen
Cynthia Coviak
Oblubunmi Daramola
Marquis Foreman
Heather Hardin
Marcelline Harris
Amy Jude Hoffman

Janean Holden
Jill Kilanowski
Christine Kovach
Donna McCarthy
Sonja Meiers
Ranee Seastrom
Briana Snyder
Joachim Voss

#### Annual Gifts up to \$99

Kristen Abbott-Anderson
Amy Berkley
Marge Bott
Barbara Bowers
Linda Burdette
Olubunmi Daramola
Rebecca Davis
Saratu Garba Abdullahi
Cynthia Gonzalez
Tondi Harrison
Norma Hennen
Kayla Herbell
Kristine Kwekkeboom
Cynthia LaFond
Kari Lane

Rebecca Lehto

Shai Lev Susan Mazanec Barbara McMorris **Edie Morris** Sarah Oerther Danielle Olds Barbara Polvika Anita Reger Briana Snyder Rika Tanda **Sharon Tucker** Susan Vonderheid Karen Wambach Kelly Wierenga **Deidre Wipke Tevis** Kathy Wright Maria Yelle



# Building a BRILLIANT Community... With the Legacy Circle

The Legacy Circle is a group of special individuals who have left a gift to the Midwest Nursing Research Society Foundation in their will or trust. We established the Legacy Circle so we can recognize your future gift today. Your Legacy Circle donation is the most lasting gift you can give to the Midwest Nursing Research Society Foundation.

Anonymous
Nancy Bergstrom
Dr. Sally and Mr. Jon Lusk
Al and Nola Pender



# Building a BRILLIANT Community... With Board Giving

Cynthia Arslanian-Engoren Madison Buursma Marquis Foreman Heather Hardin Jill Kilanowski Christine Kovach Janet Larson
Anne Marie McCarthy
Sarah Oerther
Sharon Tucker
JoEllen Wilbur
Jean Wyman



Anonymous
Madison Buursma
Heather Hardin
Kayla Herbell
Shai Lev
Sarah Oerther
Briana Snyder
Deidre Wipke-Tevis



### Building a BRILLIANT Community... At the Annual Research Conference



Champagne Reception Attendees

Lauren Aaronson **Cindy Anderson** Mary Anthony Kathleen Buckwalter Holli DeVon Marilyn Frenn Mary Beth Happ Keela Herr Ronald Hickman Amy Jude Hoffman Janean Holden Jill Kilanowski Janet Larson Ann Marie McCarthy Mary Minton **Robin Newhouse** Randolph Rasch Susan Rawl **Lorraine Robbins** Juliann Sebastian **Sharon Tucker** Kelly Wierenga JoEllen Wilbur Jean Wyman



#### Raffle Donations:

Case Western Reserve University **Emerging Scholars Network** Joachim Voss Helen Lach **Indiana University** Kent State University Loyola University Chicago Marquette University Mayo Clinic Michigan State University Jill Kilanowski **Rush University** Saint Louis University South Dakota State University University of Missouri The Ohio State University University of Cincinnati University of Illinois at Chicago University of Iowa University of Kansas University of Louisville University of Michigan University of Minnesota University of Nebraska Medical Center University of Toledo University of Wisconsin – Madison **Ursuline College** Winona State University



Fundraising Committee

Joachim Voss, Chair Mary Anthony Mary Beth Happ Tondi Harrison Susan Ludington



Raffle Winner:





### Building a BRILLIANT Community... By Honoring a Researcher



Sandra Eggenberger, PhD, RN
Minnesota State University - Mankato
Nominated by: Dr. Sonja Meiers



Julie Snethen, PhD, RN
University of Wisconsin - Milwaukee
Nominated by: Dr. April Yerges, Dr. Martin
Mikell, Dr. Eileen Sherburne, and
Pam Treisman



Kathleen Knafl, PhD, RN, FAAN
University of North Carolina Chapel Hill
Nominated by: Sonja Meiers



Karen Pridham, PhD, FAAN
University of Wisconsin - Madison
Nominated by: MNRS Members



#### **MNRS Executive Office:**

5034A Thoroughbred Lane, Brentwood, TN 37027, USA Telephone: 615-432-0098 • <a href="mailto:info@mnrs.org">info@mnrs.org</a> • <a href="mailto:www.mnrs.org">www.mnrs.org</a>