# **MINUTES**



# MNRS Annual Business Meeting April 1, 2022 –3:15 PM CDT

#### **Call to Order**

MNRS President Dr. Kathleen Buckwalter called the 46<sup>th</sup> Annual Business Meeting to order at 3:15 PM CDT on Friday, April 1, 2022.

After a brief welcome to all members in attendance and a quorum confirmation, K. Buckwalter introduced and thanked the MNRS Board of Directors, Founding Members, Past Presidents, MNRS Executive Office staff, and all committee chairs and volunteers.

# **President's Report**

K. Buckwalter presented the 2021-2022 President's Report highlighting the year's accomplishments, including

- Membership transitioned from anniversary renewal to annual renewal from July 1 to June 30.
- The 2019 calendar year ended with 1,437 members, representing a 5.7% year-over-year increase: 52% regular members, 44% student members, and 4% retired and international members.
- Membership represents 35 states, with the highest concentration of membership in Illinois, Ohio, Michigan, Wisconsin, and Missouri.
- Diversity Task Group secured IRB approval and moved forward with a survey and listening session at the 2022 conference.
- Implementation task group began a collaborative partnership with the National Organization of Nurse Practitioner Faculty (NONPF) and planned an exciting webinar series to kick off in April 2022.
- Transitioned from listservs to Groupsite.
- Enhanced the MNRS Webinar Series offering six (6) new webinars.
- Launched new Engagement meetings.
- Approved the cash movement into a money market account to develop an 18-month operating reserve.

#### **Secretary's Report**

K. Buckwalter presented the 2021 Annual Meeting minutes on behalf of Dr. Amy Hoffman, MNRS Board Secretary.

Upon **MOTION** duly made, seconded, and voted UNANIMOUSLY, the membership approved the minutes from March 26, 2021, as submitted, without edits.

#### **2021 Election Results**

Dr. Cindy Anderson, MNRS Board Past President, and Nominating Committee Chair, announced the 2022-2023 election results. It was reported that ballots were sent to all members per Article IV, Section 3 of the MNRS Bylaws and that the requirement regarding a voting quorum was met. The following MNRS Board of Director Members were elected:

- Dr. Sharon Tucker, President-Elect
- Dr. Amy Jude Hoffman, Vice President
- Dr. Eileen Hacker, Secretary
- Dr. Sheria Robinson-Lane, Member-At-Large

C. Anderson also announced Dr. Amany Farag and Dr. Karen Moss were elected by a majority of votes to the MNRS Nominating Committee.

### **Financial Report**

Dr. Diane Von Ah, MNRS Board Treasurer, thanked the Finance Committee for their dedication and updated the membership on the organization's financial position, including a clean financial audit in 2021 and affirmation that the books, accounts, and procedures are in good order. D. Von Ah announced that MNRS revenue surpassed expenses during the fiscal year ending 2021 and showed a positive operating net income for the third time in six years. In addition, D. Von Ah reported that the MNRS investments account balance during the fiscal year ending 2021 increased for the third year.

#### **WJNR Report**

Dr. Todd Ruppar, WJNR Editor, congratulated Dr. Vicki Conn on her retirement and recognized her many years of service to the journal. T. Ruppar reported that the WJNR received 530 new manuscripts in 2021, and accepted papers were published online less than four months after acceptance. The WJNR/SAGE Best Paper Awards winners were recognized, and the Editorial Board was thanked for their service to the organization. Additionally, T. Ruppar acknowledged all published authors within MNRS and encouraged members to submit their papers for the 2022 WJNR Award Paper Contest.

#### **MNRS Foundation Report**

Dr. Mary Anthony, Foundation President, recognized the Foundation Board of Trustees for their service to the Foundation. M. Anthony shared the success of the annual giving campaign. This fiscal year's Donors were recognized, including the Current Board Members, Past Presidents, Past Board Members, Past Grant Recipients, Anniversary Circle, and corporate supporters. The Foundation continues its partnership and collaborations in 2022 with Sigma, Council for the Advancement of Nursing Science, and Advocate/Aurora Health to offer grants.

#### **New Business**

K. Buckwalter announced the launch of the new MNRS Leadership Academy in 2021, led by C. Anderson. The 2021-2022 Inaugural Cohort of Fellows included Julie Kennedy, Masako Mayahara, and Marliese Nist. The cohort launched conference networking events in line with MNRS's strategic goals. K. Buckwalter reported that applications for the 2022-2023 Leadership Academy would open in May 2022, and the second cohort to start in fall 2022.

K. Buckwalter reported that the MNRS Board of Directors voted to hold the membership dues stable for 2022-2023. The membership period is July 1 to June 30 each year, and the Executive Office will begin offering renewals in May 2022. Membership rates as of July 1, 2022, will be:

- \$238 for Regular members
- \$116 for Student members
- \$121 for Retired/International members

K. Buckwalter invited the conference attendees and all members to join MNRS for the 47<sup>th</sup> Annual Research Conference in Des Moines, IA, from March 29 to April 1, 2023. The University of Iowa is the Host School; Dr. Julie Zerwic, Dean of the College of Nursing, will welcome everyone to join the conference in Iowa in 2023.

#### **Resolutions**

K. Buckwalter announced service resolutions unanimously voted by the MNRS Board of Directors on March 30, 2022, and declared acceptance by virtual acclamation.

- It was resolved to recognize the significant contributions of and the awarding of MNRS Service Awards to outgoing MNRS Board of Director members for their service to the organization and membership:
  - o Dr. Cindy Anderson, Past President
  - o Dr. Marilyn Frenn, Vice President
  - o Dr. Amy Jude Hoffman, Secretary
  - o Dr. Tanya Trotter, ESN Representative
- It was resolved to express sincere gratitude to Dr. Joachim Voss and the Program Planning Committee for their service to the organization and membership. D. Voss was awarded an MNRS Service Award.
- It was resolved to express sincere gratitude to and the awarding of MNRS Service Awards to the 2022 Conference Host and Co-Host Schools:
  - o The University of Illinois at Chicago, College of Nursing
  - o Rush University, College of Nursing
  - Loyola University Chicago, School of Nursing

## **Adjournment**

K. Buckwalter adjourned the meeting at 4:05 PM CDT.