

MINUTES MNRS 2017 Annual Business Meeting Saturday, April 14, 2018 5:00pm – 6:30pm CT

Membership Approved: _____

I. CALL TO ORDER

MNRS President Dr. Janean Holden called the 42nd Annual Business Meeting to order at 5:00pm ET on Saturday, April 14, 2018. Dr. Holden welcomed everyone.

II. INTRODUCTION of BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Dr. Holden welcomed everyone and invited Jean Davis of FNINR to the stage for a brief presentation. Dr. Holden then introduced the MNRS Board of Directors and the Association Headquarters Staff to the membership.

Board Members Present: Janean Holden, President Susan Rawl, Past-President Jennifer Doering, Vice President Sharon Tucker, Treasurer Helen Lach, Secretary Mary Anthony, Director-at-Large Heather Hardin, Director-at-Large Patricia Hershberger, Director-at-Large Heidi Lindroth, ESN/Student Representative Janet Larson, Foundation President

III. PRESIDENT'S REPORT

Dr. Holden presented the President's Report highlighting some of this year's accomplishments which include: a review of the current strategic plan, an update on nursing research on the national level, the initiative MNRS has focused on to reallocate resources as efficiently as possible.

IV. DECLARATION OF QUORUM

Board Secretary, Dr. Lach, verified that a quorum, representative of at least 10% of the membership, was present.

V. APPROVAL OF 2016 BUSINESS MINUTES

Dr. Lach reviewed the 2017 Business Meeting minutes. Membership was asked if anyone had any questions or changes. With no questions being raised, Dr. Lach called for a motion to approve the Minutes.

MOTION: A Motion was made and seconded to approve the 2017 Business Meeting Minutes as submitted. All were in favor; none opposed and no abstentions. Motion passed.

VI. RECOGNITION OF FOUNDING MEMBERS, PAST PRESIDENTS, & PAST BOARD MEMBERS

Dr. Holden recognized the Founding Members, Past Presidents and Past Board Members of MNRS and thanked them for their contributions.

VII. 2017 ELECTION RESULTS

Nominations Committee Chair, Dr. Susan Rawl, announced the results of the 2018 election. Ballots were sent to all members in accordance with Article IV, Section 3 of the MNRS Bylaws and that Bylaws requirements regarding a voting quorum had been met. The following Board Members were elected:

- Cindy Anderson, MNRS President-Elect
- Jill Kilanowski, MNRS Vice President
- Amy Hoffman, MNRS Secretary
- Kelly Wierenga, Director-At-Large

Additionally, it was announced that Lisa Carter-Harris and Mary Minton have been elected to the Nominating Committee.

VIII. TREASURER'S REPORT

MNRS Treasurer, Dr. Sharon Tucker, thanked the Finance Committee for their dedication. The financial position of MNRS was announced to the membership. MNRS is looking to cut administrative costs and assist the Foundation to become self-sufficient.

X. MEMBERSHIP REPORT

Beth Burbach, the chair of the Membership Committee, gave a report on the number of current MNRS members.

XI. COURTESY RESOLUTIONS

Dr. Holden recognized outgoing board members, the Program Planning Committee and the Program Planning Committee Chair, Dr. Mikel Hand, for their service to the organization. Additionally, Dr. Holden thanked the host schools for their contribution to the organization.

XII. WJNR REPORT

Dr. Vicki Conn, WJNR Editor, recognized winners of the WJNR/SAGE Best Paper Awards and recognized the Editorial Board for their service to the organization and additionally recognized all published authors within the organization.

XIII. FOUNDATION REPORT

Dr. Janet Larson, Foundation President, recognized the Foundation Board of Trustees for their service to the Foundation. Founders' Circle and Ambassadors' Circle members were also recognized. Dr. Larson provided an update regarding the current and future activities of the Foundation. Additionally, Mark Foreman, Christine Kovach and Robert Topp were welcomed as incoming Trustee members.

XV. SCHOOL RAFFLE WINNER

Dr. Holden announced this year's school raffle winner of the traveling trophy is The University of Nebraska.

XV. ADJOURNMENT

Dr. Holden called to adjourn the meeting at 5:55pm ET.