

# MINUTES MNRS 2016 Annual Business Meeting Saturday, March 19, 2016 5:00pm - 6:30pm CT

# I. CALL TO ORDER

MNRS President Dr. Susan Rawl called the 40<sup>th</sup> Annual Business Meeting to order at 5:07pm CT on Saturday, March 19, 2016. Dr. Rawl welcomed everyone.

# II. INTRODUCTION of BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Dr. Rawl welcomed everyone and introduced the MNRS Board of Directors and the Association Headquarters Staff to the membership.

Board Members Present:
Susan Rawl, President
Linda Herrick, Past-President
Robert Topp, Vice President
Marjorie Bott, Treasurer
Helen Lach, Secretary

Sharon Tucker, Director-at-Large Vicki Conn, Director-at-Large Patricia Hershberger, Director-at-Large Elizabeth Arruda, ESN/Student Representative Lauren Aaronson, Foundation Representative

#### III. PRESIDENT'S REPORT

Dr. Rawl presented the President's Report (of which copies were available) highlighting some of this year's accomplishments which include: new Distinguished Abstracts, Career Development sessions, NINR Director's Lecture, NINR Scientific Symposium, CANS State of the Science Conference.

#### IV. DECLARATION OF QUORUM

Board Secretary, Dr. Lach, verified that a quorum, representative of at least 10% of the membership, was present.

# **V. APPROVAL OF 2014 BUSINESS MINUTES**

Dr. Lach reviewed the 2015 Business Meeting minutes. Membership was asked if anyone had any questions or changes. With no questions being raised, Dr. Lach called for a motion to approve the Minutes.

**MOTION:** A Motion was made and seconded to approve the 2015 Business Meeting Minutes as submitted. All were in favor; none opposed and no abstentions. Motion passed.

# VI. RECOGNITION OF FOUNDING MEMBERS, PAST PRESIDENTS, & PAST BOARD MEMBERS

Dr. Rawl recognized the Founding Members, Past Presidents and Past Board Members of MNRS and thanked them for their contributions.

#### **VII. 2016 ELECTION RESULTS**

Nominations Committee Chair, Dr. Linda Herrick, announced the results of the 2016 election. Ballots were sent to all members in accordance with Article IV, Section 3 of the MNRS Bylaws and that Bylaws requirements regarding a voting quorum had been met. The following Board Members were elected:

- Janean Holden, President-Elect
- Jennifer Doering, Vice President
- Helen Lach, Secretary (re-elected)
- Patricia Hershberger, Director-at-Large (re-elected)

Additionally, it was announced that Eileen Kintner and Jodie McDaniel have been elected to the Nominating Committee.

#### **VIII. TREASURER'S REPORT**

MNRS Treasurer, Dr. Marge Bott, reported that the finances were sound and MNRS had total net assets of \$ \$541,455. Dr. Bott added that reserves represented 81% of operating expenses. It was also announced that the Board approved the formation of Joint Finance Committee to review financials and investment reports and make recommendations to the respective Boards.

#### IX. MEMBERSHIP REPORT

Dr. Barbara Hobbs, Chair of the Membership Committee, announced that the current membership total was 1,459 members.

# X. COURTESY RESOLUTIONS

Dr. Rawl recognized outgoing board members, the Program Planning Committee and the Program Planning Committee Chair, Dr. Celia Wills, for their service to the organization. Additionally, Dr. Rawl thanked the host schools for their contribution to the organization.

#### XI. WJNR REPORT

Dr. Vicki Conn, WJNR Editor, recognized winners of the WJNR/SAGE Best Paper Awards and recognized the Editorial Board for their service to the organization and additionally recognized all published authors within the organization.

# XII. FOUNDATION REPORT

Dr. Lauren Aaronson, Foundation President, recognized the Foundation Board of Trustees for their service to the Foundation. Founders' Circle and Ambassadors' Circle members were also recognized. Dr. Aaronson provided an update regarding the current and future activities of the Foundation. Additionally, Dr. Jan Larson was introduced as the incoming Foundation President-elect, and Donna McCarthy Beckett and Connie Delaney as incoming Trustee members.

# XIII. SCHOOL RAFFLE WINNER

Dr. Rawl announced this year's school raffle winner of the traveling trophy is Indiana University.

#### XV. ADJOURNMENT

Dr. Rawl called to adjourn the meeting at 5:47pm CT.