

MINUTES MNRS 2015 Annual Business Meeting Saturday, April 18, 2015 5:00pm - 6:30pm ET

I. CALL TO ORDER

MNRS President Dr. Linda Herrick called the 39th Annual Business Meeting to order at 5:07pm ET on Saturday, April 18, 2015. Dr. Herrick welcomed everyone.

II. INTRODUCTION of BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Dr. Herrick welcomed everyone and introduced the MNRS Board of Directors and the Association Headquarters Staff to the membership.

Board Members Present: Linda Herrick, President Susan Rawl, President-Elect Robert Topp, Vice President Margorie Bott, Treasurer Helen Lach, Secretary Ann Marie McCarthy, Director-at-Large Vicki Conn, Director-at-Large Patricia Hershberger, Director-at-Large Heidi Lindroth, ESN/Student Representative Kathleen Buckwalter, Ex-Officio Member

III. PRESIDENT'S REPORT

Dr. Herrick presented the President's Report (of which copies were distributed) highlighting some of this year's accomplishments which include: Securing funding for grants; strengthening, enhancing, and facilitating networking; providing education and support services for members, and membership retention and increase.

IV. DECLARATION OF QUORUM

Board Secretary, Dr. Lach, verified that a quorum, representative of at least 10% of the membership, was present.

V. APPROVAL OF 2014 BUSINESS MINUTES

Dr. Lach reviewed the 2014 Business Meeting minutes. Membership was asked if anyone had any questions or changes. With no questions being raised, Dr. Lach called for a motion to approve the Minutes.

MOTION: A Motion was made and seconded to approve the 2014 Business Meeting Minutes as submitted. All were in favor; none opposed and no abstentions. Motion passed.

VI. RECOGNITION OF FOUNDING MEMBERS, PAST PRESIDENTS, & PAST BOARD MEMBERS

Dr. Herrick recognized the Founding Members, Past Presidents and Past Board Members of MNRS and thanked them for their contributions.

VII. 2015-2016 ELECTION RESULTS

Nominations Committee Chair, Dr. Janet Larson, announced the results of the 2015 election. Ballots were sent to all members in accordance with Article IV, Section 3 of the MNRS Bylaws and that Bylaws requirements regarding a voting quorum had been met. The following Board Members were elected:

- ✓ Sharon Tucker (Director-at-Large)
- ✓ Vicki Conn (Director-at-Large)
- ✓ Marjorie Bott (Treasurer)

Additionally, it was announced that Rita Pickler and Susie Breitenstein have been elected to the Nominating Committee.

VIII. TREASURER'S REPORT

MNRS Treasurer, Dr. Marge Bott, reported that the finances were sound and MNRS had total net assets of \$ \$438,574. This represents a 12% increase from 2013. Dr. Bott added that reserves represented 80% of operating expenses. It was also announced that the Board approved the formation of Joint Finance Committee to review financials and investment reports and make recommendations to the respective Boards.

IX. MEMBERSHIP REPORT

Dr. Barbara Hobbs, Chair of the Membership Committee, announced that the current membership total was 1,299 members.

X. COURTESY RESOLUTIONS

Dr. Herrick recognized outgoing board members, the Program Planning Committee and the Program Planning Committee Chair, Dr. Barbara Polivka, for their service to the organization. Additionally, Dr. Herrick thanked the host schools for their contribution to the organization.

XI. WJNR REPORT

Dr. Vicki Conn, WJNR Editor, recognized winners of the WJNR/SAGE Best Paper Awards and recognized the Editorial Board for their service to the organization and additionally recognized all published authors within the organization.

XII. FOUNDATION REPORT

Dr. Kathleen Buckwalter, Foundation President, recognized the Foundation Board of Trustees for their service to the Foundation. Founders' Circle and Ambassadors' Circle members were also recognized. Dr. Buckwalter provided an update regarding the current and future activities of the Foundation. Additionally, Dr. Carolyn Sampselle was introduced as an incoming Trustee member, as well as Robin Brown as the new ESN representative to the Board of Trustees.

XIII. SCHOOL RAFFLE WINNER

Dr. Buckwalter announced this year's school raffle winner of the traveling trophy is Michigan State University.

XIV. NEW BUSINESS

Dr. Herrick announced that the need for three Bylaws changes, which were sent to members in March 2015. In accordance with Article XVII of the Bylaws, amendments made be approved by two-thirds (2/3) of the members voting, provided a quorum is present.

MOTION: A Motion was made and seconded to approve allowing the Foundation President voting privileges on the MNRS Board. All were in favor; none opposed and no abstentions. Motion passed.

MOTION: A Motion was made and seconded to approve allowing the ESN Representative voting privileges on the MNRS Board. All were in favor; none opposed and no abstentions. Motion passed.

MOTION: A Motion was made and seconded to approve e-voting now that the organization has incorporated in a state that allows this. All were in favor; none opposed and no abstentions. Motion passed.

XV. ADJOURNMENT

Dr. Herrick called to adjourn the meeting at 5:47pm ET.